Why so few inputs?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jon Krangel, May 15, 2002.

  1. Jon Krangel

    Jon Krangel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lateley i've been pondering something -

    Why is it that there are SO many high quality, $1000+ recievers and pre/pros that have at most 6 S-Video inputs? Some have even less, like the Sony DA5ES (4), the JVC 10 (their flagship) (4). The only recievers I know of with more are the three highest end Denons 4802/5800/5803 which are all priced at $2500 and above! To my knowlegde, all other flagship recievers max out at 6, maybe 7. Why the lack of inputs? I can understand the lack of componenet inputs (expense), but not s-video.
     
  2. John_Lee

    John_Lee Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2000
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    0
    I route everything through my receiver [a throwback to my VisionTouch/90ESG days]. But if I were to venture a guess, I'd say a lot of people route video through the monitor. A receiver is a mechanism for, receiving, processing and delivering audio. Unless you have some form of onscreen menus, a receiver is only a conduit for video. Why risk degrading the video signal by sending it through a superfluous conduit, especially if the TV/Monitor does the switching tasks as well or better.
     
  3. John Royster

    John Royster Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 3802 and HDTV are totally full. [​IMG]
    digital audio included. [​IMG]
     
  4. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like it's time to upgrade! [​IMG]
     
  5. Jon Krangel

    Jon Krangel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol, Camp, unfortunateley it is. And I can understand the quality issue, but again - we are paying in excess of $1000 here. I'm sure they could do it right if they put their mind to it [​IMG]. And also, my situation makes using the TV as a switcher a bit difficult, as my componenets are in a closet far from the tv. Any ideas?
     
  6. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    My old Onkyo 919 had a zillion S-video inputs. One was split to the LD and DVD by the companion outboard DD decoder which did S-Video switching also. In addition there was another input on the back, three tape loops with S-Video, and an S-Video on the front making the grand total 7. Whoah. My current pre/pro fits my system very well, I'm using all but two inputs, the Phono (which I would like to use) and the second VCR loop.
     
  7. PaulKH

    PaulKH Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you need SO many s-video inputs for!?

    I'll try to list some I can think of:

    cable

    s-video vcr

    game system

    er, laserdisc?

    er, er... could be a DVD player, but component's better

    So that's 5 which is a stretch.

    I have a 'flagship' receiver, but I only use 2 video inputs (s-video s-vhs vcr, and component for dvd player). My HD Tuner goes direct to a separate component input on the TV and for cable I just use the TV's built-in tuner.
     
  8. Westly T

    Westly T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most people don't have that many video sources, and they want to save money. As a result they make the receivers for "most people" and figure they will get "most" of the sales and save a little on all the units.
     
  9. Jon Krangel

    Jon Krangel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are all of the sources that I have connected to my receiver (Onkyo 797). Everything is connected via s-video (and component where applicable i.e. DVD) for multi zone viewing or recording:

    - DirecTiVo

    - S-VHS VCR

    - DVD Player

    - HDTV STB (not here yet, but a definite future purchase)

    - HTPC (no HDTV yet, so s-video)

    - Wall outlets (Cables run from one input to a wall plate of jacks with a full array of video/audio connections)

    That's 6 right there, and being a long time technology person, I know that you should always have extra (just in case). And with many receivers putting an input on the front, (which is a waste for me, and everyone else with their equipment in a closet/far away rack) there goes another critical input.

    Other devices people may have:

    - Laser Disc

    - Extra VCR (i don't know why, but some people like 2 or more)

    - Some are both Dish and DirecTV subscribers (need 2 STB's)

    - Digital Cable Box (again, some subscribe to multiple content providers)

    I'm sure i'm missing a few devices, but I think there is value in many inputs.
     
  10. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    THe front S-Video is for camcorders and/or game machines.
     
  11. John Royster

    John Royster Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well...

    xbox, ps2, gamecube, dreamcast

    VHS

    DVD

    CD

    CD

    Cable

    DBS

    So that's eight video sources, 10 audio sources.
     
  12. PaulKH

    PaulKH Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    John R - CD's don't have video.

    Jon K wrote:
     
  13. joe logston

    joe logston Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    my yamaha rx-v1 receiver haves 5 out puts , and 7 inputs, plus 1 input in the front; total 8 inputs and 5 outputs; on s-vedeo; component vedeo, 3 inputs 1 out put, 4 digital rca inputs, toslink 7 inputs 1 output.
     

Share This Page