1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Why so few inputs?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jon Krangel, May 15, 2002.

  1. Jon Krangel

    Jon Krangel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lateley i've been pondering something -

    Why is it that there are SO many high quality, $1000+ recievers and pre/pros that have at most 6 S-Video inputs? Some have even less, like the Sony DA5ES (4), the JVC 10 (their flagship) (4). The only recievers I know of with more are the three highest end Denons 4802/5800/5803 which are all priced at $2500 and above! To my knowlegde, all other flagship recievers max out at 6, maybe 7. Why the lack of inputs? I can understand the lack of componenet inputs (expense), but not s-video.
     
  2. John_Lee

    John_Lee Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2000
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I route everything through my receiver [a throwback to my VisionTouch/90ESG days]. But if I were to venture a guess, I'd say a lot of people route video through the monitor. A receiver is a mechanism for, receiving, processing and delivering audio. Unless you have some form of onscreen menus, a receiver is only a conduit for video. Why risk degrading the video signal by sending it through a superfluous conduit, especially if the TV/Monitor does the switching tasks as well or better.
     
  3. John Royster

    John Royster Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My 3802 and HDTV are totally full. [​IMG]
    digital audio included. [​IMG]
     
  4. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like it's time to upgrade! [​IMG]
     
  5. Jon Krangel

    Jon Krangel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol, Camp, unfortunateley it is. And I can understand the quality issue, but again - we are paying in excess of $1000 here. I'm sure they could do it right if they put their mind to it [​IMG]. And also, my situation makes using the TV as a switcher a bit difficult, as my componenets are in a closet far from the tv. Any ideas?
     
  6. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My old Onkyo 919 had a zillion S-video inputs. One was split to the LD and DVD by the companion outboard DD decoder which did S-Video switching also. In addition there was another input on the back, three tape loops with S-Video, and an S-Video on the front making the grand total 7. Whoah. My current pre/pro fits my system very well, I'm using all but two inputs, the Phono (which I would like to use) and the second VCR loop.
     
  7. PaulKH

    PaulKH Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do you need SO many s-video inputs for!?

    I'll try to list some I can think of:

    cable

    s-video vcr

    game system

    er, laserdisc?

    er, er... could be a DVD player, but component's better

    So that's 5 which is a stretch.

    I have a 'flagship' receiver, but I only use 2 video inputs (s-video s-vhs vcr, and component for dvd player). My HD Tuner goes direct to a separate component input on the TV and for cable I just use the TV's built-in tuner.
     
  8. Westly T

    Westly T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Most people don't have that many video sources, and they want to save money. As a result they make the receivers for "most people" and figure they will get "most" of the sales and save a little on all the units.
     
  9. Jon Krangel

    Jon Krangel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here are all of the sources that I have connected to my receiver (Onkyo 797). Everything is connected via s-video (and component where applicable i.e. DVD) for multi zone viewing or recording:

    - DirecTiVo

    - S-VHS VCR

    - DVD Player

    - HDTV STB (not here yet, but a definite future purchase)

    - HTPC (no HDTV yet, so s-video)

    - Wall outlets (Cables run from one input to a wall plate of jacks with a full array of video/audio connections)

    That's 6 right there, and being a long time technology person, I know that you should always have extra (just in case). And with many receivers putting an input on the front, (which is a waste for me, and everyone else with their equipment in a closet/far away rack) there goes another critical input.

    Other devices people may have:

    - Laser Disc

    - Extra VCR (i don't know why, but some people like 2 or more)

    - Some are both Dish and DirecTV subscribers (need 2 STB's)

    - Digital Cable Box (again, some subscribe to multiple content providers)

    I'm sure i'm missing a few devices, but I think there is value in many inputs.
     
  10. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    THe front S-Video is for camcorders and/or game machines.
     
  11. John Royster

    John Royster Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well...

    xbox, ps2, gamecube, dreamcast

    VHS

    DVD

    CD

    CD

    Cable

    DBS

    So that's eight video sources, 10 audio sources.
     
  12. PaulKH

    PaulKH Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    John R - CD's don't have video.

    Jon K wrote:
     
  13. joe logston

    joe logston Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my yamaha rx-v1 receiver haves 5 out puts , and 7 inputs, plus 1 input in the front; total 8 inputs and 5 outputs; on s-vedeo; component vedeo, 3 inputs 1 out put, 4 digital rca inputs, toslink 7 inputs 1 output.
     

Share This Page