What's new

Why should I leave my amps on 7/24? (1 Viewer)

Henry W

Stunt Coordinator
A lot of people are telling me to leave my Bryston 4B ST amps on 7/24. Why? I do not understand this. Should I really do this? It doesn't make sense to me.
Best regards-Henry
------------------

Brian_J

Second Unit
I guess the simple response would be when do you normally see a lightbulb burn out?
Brian
------------------
Zed's Dead Baby...

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
unless bryston tells you to, i can't think of a reason although some believe keeping the electronics warmed up serves to prolong their life. i'd imagine the the opinions are 50/50...

Chris PC

Senior HTF Member
I would not. I have a technics integrated amplifier. No its not exactly audiophile grade, but its been fairly good sounding to me all these years. I have been turning it on and off for 12 years. No problems. If it brakes, then too bad. Leaving your amp on 24/7 is a waste of energy. That constant heat it generates at idle is wasting power for no reason. Those parts in there are supposed to be high grade and should handle the expansion and contraction of on and off cycles just fine.Energy is not free. I switch ALL my components off when not using them. If a product can't handle being turned on and off, then its not good in my eyes. Save electricity and turn it off when you are not using it.

Mike LS

Supporting Actor
The reason you hear people say that you should leave power amps on all the time is much the same reason alot of computer techs say you should leave your computer on all the time.
When you power your amps up, it sends a tremendous surge of power through the amp. This tends to really tax pretty much everything in there to a certain extent.
Granted, they are made to handle this, but even so, after some time.....could be a short amount, could be 20 years....something is sooner or later going to pop in there.
Leaving the power up all the time saves your equipment from this surge.