What's new

Why is sound ok to "Sounds good to you" while video must be expertly calibrated. (1 Viewer)

John D.

Auditioning
The following question is based on posts I have read at this forum.
Can someone explain why it is OK for sound calibration to be acceptable when it "sounds good to you". Yet Video must be precisely calibrated by trained experts with calibration tools. Why can't video just "look good to me" too?
JD
P.S. Yes I'm a newbie. ( I can't afford to be anything else) :frowning:

ChrisMatson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Chris
As long as you're happy.

As a sidenote, audio is more subjective and difficult to calibrate with room interactions, hearing problems, and equipment differences. Video calibration (at least basic, AVIA/VE adjustemnts) is easy by comparison with clear, well-defined, measurable standards for color accuracy, gray scale, and other parameters. A basic calibration provides better detail and a generally more pleasing picture. Just my opinion...

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
This is kind of a good question.

First, I have never heard anyone say "calibrate until it sounds good to you". Most people recommend a SPL meter to adjust loudness levels, and even a RTA to find peaks/room responses. The electronics are usually recommended, not personal perception.

I HAVE heard: "buy the speakers that sound good to you".

This (I have thought) is because hearing is a matter of TASTE.

If you lined up 5 brands of chocolate ice cream in the "best-to-worst" order, your order and mine would likely be different. And this is accepted because we have different tastes. The same goes for beer, wine, soda, etc.

So why is this not acceptable for video adjustments?

steve nn

Senior HTF Member