Why is my new sub silent?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by DanielKellmii, Feb 13, 2005.

  1. DanielKellmii

    DanielKellmii Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    What did I do? I just bought a Klipsch 12 sub from Best Buy. I took it out of the box and pluged it in. It played for about 3 minutes and then nothing. I was checking out the volume at the time, but nothing too extreme. I was playing a movie (LOTR:FOTR) that has some good low frequencies, but I didn't have anything too loud. I did unplug it and then plug it back in. I waited about 20 minuets and tried again. Nothing.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. Donald B

    Donald B Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have a receiver that requires you to setup a subwoofer you may want to go through the menus. I know I cannot just plug in a sub to my Yamaha receiver. I have to 'add' it. Another issue could be that you blew a fuse on the sub... assuming your sub has a few.

    Those are my first 2 suggestions to investigate. Good luck!
     
  3. DanielKellmii

    DanielKellmii Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is/was replacing a sub that was already there.
     
  4. Donald B

    Donald B Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    What receiver do you have hooked up to the sub?
     
  5. DonnyD

    DonnyD Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hopefully it's just a fuse..........LOTR is some pretty significant low end to be trying out a new sub with, especially if you were running it HOT.
    Good luck......
     
  6. KenLeBlanc

    KenLeBlanc Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shouldn't a new sub be already broken in ? I know the Athena Sub8 that I have recommends a break in period of 50 hours min. but I thought most speakers/subs were broken in from the factory ?

    I have a JBL E250 Nortridge on order, should I not be able to take it out of the box and put it through some nice low end tests ?
     
  7. DanielKellmii

    DanielKellmii Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was the fuse.
     
  8. Greg_Hammond

    Greg_Hammond Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which subwoofer model did you get?

    I'm surprised you blew the fuse. Check to make sure the plug fits snugly in the socket, and that if you're using a power strip or power conditioner - that it's plug is also snug. If you have a weak connection, sometimes the voltage sags during demand, and the current goes up to compensate - popping a fuse in the process.

    Greg
     
  9. Antonio_B

    Antonio_B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    sometimes when you disconnect the subwoofer cable while it's on,it can blow a fuse
     
  10. Donald B

    Donald B Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    W00h00 score one point for Donald B.
     

Share This Page