Why is it doing this?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dan Whalen, Dec 22, 2002.

  1. Dan Whalen

    Dan Whalen Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is this website that I go to that I haven't been able to get into for the last two days. It says that it is unavailable. I went over to my parents house and tried it on their computer. It worked, but a couple of pages I tried to open wouldn't work. I went back, and tried them again, and they worked. But I can't even get into the main page on my computer. Would the problem be with the website, or my computer? Anyone have any ideas?

    Dan
     
  2. LewB

    LewB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Perhaps the web site moved (changed server IP address) and the address change hasn't filtered down to your ISP's DNS (Domain Name Server). The DNS translates the web name that you type in, like www.hometheaterforum.com into an IP address (server) where the page is located. Do your parents have a different service provider than you do ?
     
  3. Dan Whalen

    Dan Whalen Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes they do. They have Mediacom cable and I have KansasNet dialup.
     
  4. Leila Dougan

    Leila Dougan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like the website is having server problems or there is a problematic router on the way to the server. Not much you can do but wait it out.
     
  5. Karl_O

    Karl_O Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What is the URL of this web site, if this is permitted within forum rules?
     

Share This Page