Why I am choosing direct view...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by StephenP, Jul 16, 2001.

1. StephenP

StephenP Stunt Coordinator

I've been pulling my hair out for a couple months trying to choose between the 36xbr and a 16:9 toshiba projector. With the release of the new 47 Panasonic, I added that to my short list. Once again I headed out this weekend to try and make my decision, when I saw something that totally turned me off of rptv -- burn in on a new Panasonic 47. I know these sets are in torch mode in stores, but anything that can burn in in less than 2 weeks is something I cannot spend $2000 on. This new tv has already burned in the gray bars that come on when using 4:3 mode. The screen is clearly a different color on the edges when using the full modes. I don't know why CC was showing this tv in 4:3 mode for much of the time, or how long it was in that view, but that seems unacceptable to me. Any rptv owners want to convince me that a dim (compared to direct view), fragile, slightly less sharp (on ntsc sources) picture is better just because it's bigger? I wont be able to afford an hd receiver for a while after I buy a new tv, but ota is available in my area. Someone out there think I'm judging these things too harshly? My choice right now is the 36 xbr, but with a stand it will be at least $500 more than the 50H81 I had been waiting for...
    By the way, best buy said they would have the h81 on display by this week, the computer was showing them in the warehouse.

2. Brian Mello

Brian Mello Stunt Coordinator