What's new

Why Go Sealed? (1 Viewer)

Travis_G

Agent
I am modeling a coffee table sub with Win ISD. I'm using an AE AV15 in a 12ft^3 box with dual 4 " vents tuned to 17 Hz. Above 31 Hz, GD actually looks about the same on the vented enclosure as on the sealed of same internal volume.

Below 31 Hz the sealed box has great looking GD but doesn't have that much output very far below 31 Hz anyways. Besides what do you play below ~ 35 Hz that requires great GD? It's mostly pipe organs, T-Rex footsteps, and explosions.

I bought some Brent Plugs from Home Depot to plug up the vents when I listen to music, but now I wonder, why even bother? If I were tuning a box to 30 Hz I might be more concerned with using the plugs.

Any thoughts?

Travis

Leo Kerr

Screenwriter
I'm not a sub expert, and I've not spent a lot of time auditioning them. However, the few that I've heard - and for speaker systems in general, the ported systems I've heard tend to have a very strong bass-hump.

Granted, many of these are not particularly well designed units, but it's kept me in 'sealed-land.' While they may be 'anemic,' they don't sound bad.

The sub I inherited (kind of lousy,) is an IB. I'm planning on building a sono-sub soon (nicely alliterative,) and I'm kind of planning on sealed for there, too.

Leo

Leo Kerr

Screenwriter
It's at least a "near-IB." It was from a 1960's home audio (mono) system. ~14" woofer, coaxially mounted tweater, in a cabinet that's roughly 36"H x 18"W x 16"D. At least fairly stuffed with fiberglass, and, in my use, the external amp is fed with the low-pass output of my DSP-A1.

During things with active, vigorus bass, it tends to make ugly farting noises as the cone slams the X-max...

Leo

Chuck Bogie

Second Unit
I've got both ported and sealed, using the same drivers.

In my basement, I've got a pair of ported Quatro 15s, and they will scare you.