What's new

Why do some DVD's look better than others??? (1 Viewer)

Dave Marx

Stunt Coordinator
I am no DVD expert, but I bought a nice prog-scan SONY DVD player with my HDTV...connected through component inputs. Why do some DVD's look crisper and cleaner than others? I am curious...shouldn't they ALL look the same quality? Is it simply in the remastering and conversion over from film? I bought the U2: ELEVATION BOSTON TOUR DVD and it takes up the entire screen...and looks AMAZING. Then, I watched BOOGIE NIGHTS, widescreen and it just doesn't look as crisp. It almost seems that the more a movie takes up the screen, the better it looks. Is this common, or is it just the particular DVD I am watching?

I guess I just feel that since I bought a prog-scan DVD player, I expect ALL the DVD's I watch to be of amazing quality. Perhaps I am being unrealistic. Does anyone own a prog-scan DVD player and been thrilled with how some movies look and very dissapointed in how some others look?

Justin Ward

Supporting Actor
Well I am a newbie but this is what I think is the case. Just because a movie is on DVD does mean the quality will be great, just that it is possible. So if the source is crap the DVD will look like crap. Here is an analogy: you have two versions of a song. One is an mp3 rip at 320kb/s and the other is an mp3 at 32kb/s(uggh). You then convert them both to wav and burn them. They should both sound great right? They are both CD-audio right. Well no, the file sourced from the higher quality file will sound better.

Jeff Kleist

Senior HTF Member
The larger image has more visual impact to your brain, and since the crisp picture takes up the whole screen it seems better, but it's actually the same

Also, most concerts are shot on video, and therefore don't get the stylized look that films carrry

Dave Marx

Stunt Coordinator