why do no waterfalls feed direct into the sea?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by andrew markworthy, Sep 4, 2004.

1. andrew markworthy

Probably for a geographer this is a silly question, but why do no waterfalls seem to feed directly into the sea, please?

2. Mark Hayenga

Mark Hayenga Supporting Actor

Do you mean as in water falling right into the ocean?

3. andrew markworthy

Yes. E.g. why don't we have the equivalent of a Niagara Falls or a Victoria Falls going over a cliff into the sea? Why do rivers always seem to end in estuaries?

4. Rob Lutter

Rob Lutter Producer

I'm not a scientist or anything... but here's a guess:

Because over the centuries they've eroded away the land down to sea level (ala: the Colorado river creating the Grand Canyon)

5. RobertR

RobertR Lead Actor

I think you nailed it. I was watching a program the other day about how Niagra Falls used to be several miles downstream of where they are now. Eventually, they will no longer exist.

6. Chris Lockwood

Chris Lockwood Producer

>why don't we have the equivalent of a Niagara Falls or a Victoria Falls going over a cliff into the sea?

I dunno- the lake Niagara goes into is about as big as some seas.

7. John Watson

John Watson Screenwriter

I've seen one that is very close to a river it empties into (the Rideau River in Ottawa falls into the Ottawa River).

In St John, N.B. Canada, they advertise the reversing falls. I think that the high tide (from the Bay of Fundy, known for very high tides) visibly reverses the flow of water from the St John River.

8. andrew markworthy

Possibly, but surely that would apply inland as well (i.e. there'd be no waterfalls inland)? And if like Niagara the rock is worn away so the falls are now further 'back' than they used to be, surely all that would happen is there'd be a bit more sea now than there used to be?

9. Maurice McCone

Maurice McCone Stunt Coordinator