What's new

why do i always get buyers remorse?!! even after researching!! (1 Viewer)

Mike Matthews

Stunt Coordinator
so i've been researching forever, and i just got a Denon AVR-2802 from an authorized ebay retailer. then i look in the same Crutchfield catalog i've been browsing through forever and all of a sudden, the Onkyo TX-SR701 jumps out at me. it's more expensive than the Denon, but it has some additional features like THX, more power, more listening modes, a front a/v panel, etc. and now i'm doubting myself!

will the Denon AVR-1802 provide enough power to run my Paradigm set up without any problems?

Monitor 11s
Mini Monitors
CC-370
SVS 20-39 PCi

i want to make sure i don't do any damage to the speakers, as i'm very new to this home theater world

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
I don't think you'll do any damage and it's a real difficult question to answer as to whether the power differential between the two units is sufficient to cause a perceived difference. The problem with specs on these multichannel receivers (amps too) is that rarely if ever do you see a review that attempts to tax the receivers and includes what I call in-situ measurements. With regards to power, there's an awful lot of borrowing from Peter to pay Paul that goes on. Push the center channel and 'maybe' the available power to the L+R is greatly reduced.

I wouldn't get too hung up in the additional modes as quite frankly most of us try them once or twice and move on. The THX certification as you know is highly debated as to its value. As to whether the front A/V features are something you really need that's only a question you can answer. If you're really that unsure, return the unit, eat the s/h, and get what you really want.