Why do all Passive radiators sub setups sound like crap?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Billy Gun, Dec 27, 2001.

1. Billy Gun

Billy Gun Stunt Coordinator

Every one I've ever heard sounded really "Muddy" and "Boomy".

Are they all that way, or do you think the ones I heard weren't crossed correctly or setup right?

Why use a passive radiator anyway....why not use a regular port? Or is the passive radiator a compromise for the box not being big enough?

???

2. Dustin B

Dustin B Producer

The Stryke HE-15 cube sub that uses 3 passive radiators per driver is supposed to sound great. Although many argue that the ported HE-15 design sounds better than the PR one. But I have no experience comparing the same driver in a ported and PR enclosure so I won't make any statment either way.

But to answer your question, from my understanding the reason you use a passive radiator over a port is with high excursion drivers in small enclosures. The smaller an enclosure the longer a port has to be to tune to a low frequency. Also the larger the diameter of a port, the longer it has to be to tune low. Drivers that move a lot of air require a large diameter port to allow air to flow freely. Too small and the air a high excursion driver moves will cause port noise.

So a small box and a driver that moves a lot of air would mean a suitable port would be too long to fit in the box. For example the Stryke HE-15 cube is 24" on all sides. That driver should really have an 8" diameter port. For an 8" diameter port to tune an enclosure of that size to 18hz it would have to be 71" long. Not exactly going to fit. Where as multiple passive radiators with long enough strokes and the right mass can tune the HE-15 cube to 18hz.

Hope that helps.

3. Tom Brennan

Tom Brennan Screenwriter