Why BluePrint drivers are not as popular as Shiva's or Tempest's?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Manuel Delaflor, Jul 14, 2002.

1. Manuel Delaflor

Manuel Delaflor Supporting Actor

Im playing right now with their 1201 driver. It goes down to an F3 of 21.88 in a 113L ported cabinet tuned to 20Hz. It cost only 91 bucks. This seems rather good. Good bass at low cost.

On the other hand I'm aware of the price of their 03 series, for example their 1503, which can do as well as a Tempest but using a smaller enclosure. So if cost is important a Tempest will go as low for much less (driver cost) and with less amplification (less amplifier cost also).

I feel this is why a Tempest is different, no "better or worst". But I can't understand the same about their 1201 against a Shiva.

Im still a newbie in all this matters, but can anyone explain to me why are this drivers not as popular as Adire ones?

2. Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun Moderator

Uh, try to buy one...

3. Manuel Delaflor

Manuel Delaflor Supporting Actor

Uh,
    That's a clever point.
    [​IMG]

4. Dustin B

Dustin B Producer

Plus wasn't the 1201 changed significantly recently (well specs at least, don't know if anyone has managed to get the current iteration or not). The new one looks respectable, but the original was far enough behind you'd want to spend the extra 30-50 on the Dayton or Shiva.

5. jeff lam

jeff lam Screenwriter

Jeff Lam
    From what I understand of the BPD's, only the 03's can compare to (actually beat) the shiva/tempest but it will cost you an arm and leg to power it (needing about 1000W) and EQ it so it sounds right. It's just not as cost efficient.

6. Jon Hancock

Jon Hancock Stunt Coordinator