Why are there so many jerks!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by LaMarcus, Aug 7, 2002.

1. LaMarcus

LaMarcus Screenwriter

Well I guess their not really jerks but they still "P" me off as such (directors). How come so many movies are in 2.35:1? If widescreen tv's are 1.77:1, and 1.85:1 still fills the screen. Then why do 2.35?

It makes me so mad, I just bought lord of the rings, and I was praying that it would be 1.85. I zoomed in on the picture to see how much of a impact it had being fullscreen, and it was like watching a different movie. Man that sucks.

And how come I have overscan on 2.35 but not anything under that?

2. Geno

Geno Supporting Actor

I wouldnt go so far as to calling them jerks. Save that for the Pan & Scan promoters. Im no expert, but here is my opinion. It is as much the same way with surround formats on the dvd. DTS DLPII DD DDEX DD THX DDTHXEX THX THX7.1 THXEX9.1.

3. Lew Crippen

Lew Crippen Executive Producer

4. Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

5. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    You'll get used to it. I agree with the above. Maybve one day TV's will be 2.35:1. Perhaps they wont even be TV's but just a display wall in your house. Until then, try to enjoy it.

6. Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper Producer

This is an interesting statement- as I have a 16x9 projections screen, and find 2.35:1 movies to be equally impactful. In fact- I simply mask off the black areas- and thus they fill the visible screen area just fine.

I'm curious how unused space about and below the image would have such an impact- especially when compared to cropping off a section of the film.

I guess, to me, it's like saying that my sip of Pepsi is better becuase the glass was all the way full-- since the size and shape of the glass is 100% independnt of the content of the pepsi- I have trouble seeing how the two could be related.

-Vince

7. LaMarcus

LaMarcus Screenwriter