Who's your favourite critic?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Paul_D, Feb 16, 2002.

1. Paul_D

Paul_D Cinematographer

I have never found a critic whose opinions of movies matches mine. Have any of you ever found a critic who accurately matches your tastes?

2. SteveGon

SteveGon Executive Producer

Roger Ebert. I don't always agree with him, but he is well-educated and sensible.

3. Matt Stone

Matt Stone Lead Actor

Yah...Ebert doesn't exactly match my tastes 100% of the time...but he's a smart guy with a great understanding of film.

I also like Mike Clark and Elvis Mitchell. I usually agree with Elvis most of the time...

4. John Stone

John Stone Supporting Actor

Another vote for Ebert. We don't agree on many films, but I love his writing, and he often makes me think. My favorite commentary of all time is from Dark City. After I listened to it for the first time, I hit play and listened to it again--without a break. I've never done that before. His Citizen Kane commentary is excellent, too.
    Also, I also applaud his outspoken (and much appreciated) advocacy of OAR on DVD.
    My only nit about Ebert is that he is always screwing up details. I guess its understandable since he sees so many films, but sometimes I feel that those annoying gaffs weaken his reviews.
    EDIT: I would love to see more commentaries by Ebert. I would much rather listen to Ebert's comments than, say, Arnold Schwarzenegger's. I'll bet Ebert comes a lot cheaper than $75,000.00, too! [​IMG]
    So, what do you think about that, Arnold?
    "Exactly..."

5. george kaplan

george kaplan Executive Producer

You're never going to find one you agree with all the time. I like Ebert cause he's knowlegable even when I disagree with him. I dislike Roeper because's he's kind of stupid, even when I agree with his recommendations. The guy I really hate is some neo-nazi who's name I can't remember at the moment.