White to black transition problem?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Mason Y, Jan 11, 2004.

1. Mason Y

Mason Y Extra

Sorry, I'm posting in the newbie area because a: I'm a newbie and b: I don't know what this problem is called so I don't know what to search for.

When I watch a scene with say a white face, and then the scene changes to a completely dark scene, for a split second I can still see the face of the person in the last frame before it disappears. This also happens when a light colored object moves across a dark background causing a streak while it moves (i searched "streak" but didn't come up with anything like this).

Does anyone know what this is called and what the cause is? I'm not sure if this is a new problem or I just never noticed it, but it made X2 unwatchable.

Thanks in advance [​IMG]

KV32HS500
    Toshiba SD-4900
    Monster component cables
    Marantz 4300 receiver

2. Don__C

Don__C Extra

Have you adjusted your contrast. Sounds like its set skyhigh.

3. Mason Y

Mason Y Extra

Actually I have my contrast set as best I can with DVE. I'll try turning the contrast ("Picture" setting I think) down even more and see what happens. Thanks.

4. ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles Producer