Which test tones are correct when using 6-channel input?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ted Lee, Sep 15, 2001.

  1. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all -
    i just realized something. i have an onkyo 646 which has the multi-channel input. i have my sony 560D dvd player hooked into the receiver using those inputs.
    what i noticed is that when i select the multi-channel input on the receiver, i can no longer select (via the osd) the surround setup option. it just goes away. as soon as i select a video input the option comes back.
    so that leads me to believe the test tones from my dvd player (and therefore the sound levels) are the ones being "used" by the receiver.
    does that sound right to you? i hope this makes sense...
    [​IMG]
    ------------------
    You step in the stream,
    But the water has moved on.
    This page is not here.
     
  2. PatrickM

    PatrickM Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ted,
    Your assumption is correct. Once you select the multi-channel analog input it becomes a pass through on most receivers and I suspect this is the case on your Onkyo.
    Therefore, you must use the level setting, bass management and time alignment of the DVD player.
    But, why are you using the analog inputs instead of the digital input?
    Patrick
    ------------------
    My DVD Collection
     
  3. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi patrick -
    unfortunately, my receiver is an older pro-logic model only. it doesn't have dd/dts. so, for me to get "true" 5.1 channel sound i have to rely on the decoder from my dvd player.
    thanks for confirming my suspiscions.
    one other thought...from an audio view-point - how does this affect me using a calibration disc like ve or avia? it seems like the test tones wouldn't work in my scenario - since the sound levels are dependent on the dvd player and not the receiver?
    thanks again...
    ------------------
    You step in the stream,
    But the water has moved on.
    This page is not here.
     
  4. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^bump^
    ------------------
    You step in the stream,
    But the water has moved on.
    This page is not here.
     
  5. derek

    derek Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 1998
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you use VE/AVIA with the 6 channel input you will only adjust the settings of the channel levels on the dvd player menu/options. If the Onkyo allows level settings using the 6 channel input (which it sounds like it does not) zero them out.
    ------------------
    Derek
    Surround EX FAQ: http://www.geocities.com/Heartland/P...urroundex.html
     
  6. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks derek!
    [​IMG]
    ------------------
    You step in the stream,
    But the water has moved on.
    This page is not here.
     
  7. PatrickM

    PatrickM Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ted, you won't be able to use the test tones in ve or avia since most DVD players with level adjustments don't allow you to play something while adjusting this parameter. Most only allow you to do it with their built in test tones but I wouldn't worry about it. It'll be close enough.
    Patrick
    ------------------
    My DVD Collection
     
  8. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks patrick! [​IMG]
    ------------------
    You step in the stream,
    But the water has moved on.
    This page is not here.
     

Share This Page