Which Subwoofer for HT?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by John-e-s, Apr 25, 2002.

1. John-e-s

John-e-s Auditioning

I have four Def tech power towers (2002x2, 2006x2), BP2Xs for rears, and a 2002 center. I am a newbie, but after reading multiple submissions, it appears that I will purchase a sub for HT. Which sub? My room is relatively large. With the return of some loaned money, price is not too much of a consideration (to a degree of course). I realize there are as many opinions as listeners, but are there some obvious moderate to high-end choices I should or should not consider? Also, would most people then suggest running the def techs as small and lowering the crossover a bit, or running as large and raising the crossover a bit for HT, with large setting and no sub for music? My receiver is a B&K 307AVR. Thank you.

2. Dustin B

Dustin B Producer

Could you be more specific on room size and price range.

Are we talking $1000-$2000USD, $3000USD plus or more? Is room size around 3500ft^3 or are we talking 6000+ ft^3?

3. John-e-s

John-e-s Auditioning

Thank you. Cubic feet approx 4,500-5,000. Price range--would be nice to stay below 1,500.00, though for the right sound I would go higher. JS

4. Brian Burnaby

Brian Burnaby Auditioning

I'm going through a similar process. I recently purchased PsB Image 5T's, and intend on adding the matching surround and center soon, but I am still undecided on which subwoofer. I currently am in a modest sized apartment (concrete thank god [​IMG] ) but I have plans of moving into a house within the next couple of years. Thus I want a sub that I won't outgrow when I put in a larger room. (within reasonable limits of course).