What's new

Which Sub....Plk psw650, Ini Alpha 1200, or Ini Intermezzo 1.2? (1 Viewer)

ShaneHo

Auditioning
Hi, I am new to the forum, but have been a lurker for about a month. I am currently a disgruntled CC employee, and if you have followed the news at all around Feb 5 you would know why.

Well anyways, I consider myself very knowledgeable about HT but I am by no means an expert.

My setup for speakers will be as follows...
Polk CSI 40 for center channel
Polk RTI 70 towers for fronts
And for the rears I am still undecided....
Leaning towards Polk FxI 50's
but debating about RTI 30's or 28's

Is the Dipole/Bipole feature worth it???

Also on the receiver I am leaning towards a Harman Kardon AVR 525 or 325 7.1 channel

Also cant decide whether I should go with an Onkyo TXSR 700 or 800 receiver but I think I want the HK

Now on to my main question....Which sub should I get...

I have not had the chance to audition the Polk PSW 650 with dual 10" drivers nor have I been able to find much information or reviews about it. So that is the least probable sub I will get unless i hear some favorable reviews...But we do have the Polk PSW 404 sub set up in our store and it does not impress me at all...more below

For about $80 more I can get the Infinity Alpha 1200 sub which is 500 watts. We dont have that in our store either but we do have an Infinity Entra Sub Two set up which is 250 watts and it blows the Polk PSW 404 away in my opinion...So i am assuming the extra $80 will be worth it for the Alpha 1200. As another option I can get the Entra Sub 2 for about the same money as the Polk 650.

Also on the plate today I found an Infinity sub on their accomodation website that they must want to get rid of. It is an INTERMEZZO 1.2S 850 watt (RMS) sub that I can get for about $150 more than the Alpha 1200 sub. Im thinking that if the accomodation is left on their site that is the one I will get.

What are your opinions???