Which Receiver? Pioneer/Onkyo

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by PaulShady, Sep 12, 2001.

1. PaulShady

PaulShady Agent

First off let me say Hi to all the members and thanks to Ronald and Parker for granting me access to your Great Forum!
    I am new to the HTS and will be purchasing one very soon.
    At Receiver: The Pioneer VSX-D850S or the Onkyo TX-DS595
    Front Speakers: Polk R40 Towers OR Sony SSM-F600H
    Rear Speakers: Polk R10 OR SSM-B300H
    Center Channel: Polk CS175i or CS245i OR ??? Bose/Sony?
    Subwoofer: Polk PSW250 OR Sony SA-WM40
    DVD/CD: JVC XV-S60BK
    One concern is money. I want to stay under $1500. I in the neighborhood of $1300 now, so I don't have much room to play. I also would like to know what else I would need to buy, ie. speaker wire, hook-ups....? And please recommend where I should shop!
    Thanks, [​IMG]
    Paul
    [Edited last by PaulShady on September 13, 2001 at 08:23 AM]

2. BryanZ

BryanZ Screenwriter

Paul,
    Welcome to HTF!
    Do you already have the CD/DVD player or will you need to purchase that as well?
    Assuming you have it:
    Denon AVR-1802 - $400 (www.crazyeddie.com)
    Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 package w/HSU VTF-2 sub - $1,100
    or
    HTD Level III mains, center, and surrounds - $767
    Adire Audio Rava - $400
    Onkyo TX-DS494 - $300 (www.jandr.com)
    or
    Outlaw 1050 - $429 + shipping for a B stock unit
    nOrh 4.0 package - $850
    Sony SA-WM40 - $150
    IMO those options offer the best bang for your buck. The Denon and Outlaw both have pre-outs if you would like to go to separates later on. The Denon also has DPL II whereas the Outlaw doesn't. However, you can add an additional speaker for 6.1 sound with the Outlaw and it has pre-outs for all channels.