Which Paradigms to get?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Peter Sanderson, Dec 1, 2005.

1. Peter Sanderson

Peter Sanderson Auditioning

Hi all, I'm really kinda new to the whole idea of having a nice speaker system to watch movies and listen to music. I currently have a Pioneer HTIB, but it's no longer serving me any good. At a local audio/video store they have a pair of Monitor 7's for $550 and a pair of Monitor 5's v3 for 390. I really like both pairs of speakers. I was wondering what you guys thought of each of the speakers? Yes, I did listen to both pairs. I just want some help and suggestions. And I was wondering if it would be a good idea to get a receiver/amp (Yamaha RX-V450) or if I should get a separate amp and receiver. If I were to go with the separate amp and receiver would I see a big benefit in having a pre-amp? Thanks for the help. Ooh, and one more thing for now i was only thinking of running to speakers (basically just stereo mode) and was wondering if I should pick up a used stereo receiver and two channel amp? If I were to do that, do stereo receivers come with a sub out? Sorry for all the questions but I appreciate the help that I will get.

Peter

2. mackie

mackie Supporting Actor

What are your goals? Stereo only or build up to surround sound?

Buy the speakers you like best.

You'll most likely be fine with just the receiver, and most stereo receivers don't have a sub out. A few do though.

3. Peter Sanderson

I'd like to build up to surround sound, but to start I'm just going to have a pair of speakers and a sub. So you think the Yamaha receiver will be fine until I want more power from the speakers? I would like some info on the Monitor 5's v3 and the Monitors 7's. I liked both of them but I can't really figure out the main differences. I don't really have an ear for the big differences in speakers. Thanks for the help so far.

Peter

4. mackie

mackie Supporting Actor

Interesting article on low cost receivers.