What's new

Which input do you use for your game system? (1 Viewer)

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam
I'm new to gaming but not to H/T. I'm currently using the AUX inputs for my PS2 on my Yamaha receiver. It works for now, but when I find a spot for the PS2 in my equipment rack, I'll have to switch inputs on my receiver as my AUX inputs are only on the front pannel of the receiver and I don't want cables sticking out of the front at ALL times. I thought about using the VCR2 input and it occured to me to ask all of you what input all of you use on your H/T receivers.

The only inputs I have open are VCR2, MD, AUX (front only), and Phono I think. I don't have it in front of me so I can't remember exactly. I have a Yamaha RXV620 BTW.

So what input do all of you use?

Andre F

Screenwriter
I use Video 2 (Gamecube)and DVD (PS2, I go straight to the TV component hookup on my TV). With this setup I can't run the DVD player and the PS2 at the same timw but why would I want to?
-Andre F

Brandon_H

Stunt Coordinator
I invested in a used Extron HDTV/component-video switcher from Ebay. Six inputs, one output. I feed PS2, Gamecube, Xbox, Dreamcast, HD cable box, and DVD player into it, then run output to my TV.

For audio, I'm using various inputs on my pre-amp. The Xbox and PS2 use up two of my four optical inputs, assigned to "AUX 1" and "AUX 2" on the pre-amp. Dreamcast gets "Video 2," and my N64, "Video 3." Gamecube audio goes to "Tape" -- it was the only analog audio input I had left.

Dave Bennett

Screenwriter
I use S-Video for my PS2 and Gamecube. I was contemplating moving to component video, but from what I've gathered, on a non HD 27" flat screen TV, the difference will be negligible and not worth the cost/effort. For audio, I use the optical input for the PS2 and one of the analog inputs on my Onkyo 494 reciever for the Cube.

DonRoeber

Screenwriter