Which DVD player to buy

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mark Hall, Aug 11, 2001.

1. Mark Hall

Mark Hall Auditioning

For the past year I have been using the DVD-ROM drive on my computer, but now I am ready to start building my own home theater. Since I am only a poor college student I plan on building my theater in pieces. The first item that I want is a quality DVD player. I really would appreciate any suggestions regarding what options I need to look for such as do I need to have a DTS decoder or progressive scan. What models are the best and so on.
    Thanks very much
    mark

2. Erwin

Erwin Stunt Coordinator

I would recommend JVC, Sony, and Panasonic. If you want progressive at a reasonable price, get a JVC (they have one now going for $249, but I got mine at SEARS for $169). You don't need a dts decoder unless you want to get dts DVDs. You should get a receiver with a dts decoder if you want dts sound though. There isn't a movie that I am aware of that has not been released in DD5.1 that's also been available in dts. Several releases have been including both formats on one disc. If you really want a good player that's dirt cheap- The Sanyo for $139 is a pretty well built player for the price.
    Now, if you want to get the whole package with receiver, DVD player, and speakers- I would get the Philips set they have at SAMS for $399 (Circuit City is selling the same set for $699). My dad has it, and it's a pretty nice system, but I like my Yamaha way more. Hope this helps.
    [Edited last by Erwin on August 11, 2001 at 08:40 PM]

3. Doug_H

Doug_H Supporting Actor

Mark
    A couple things come into play here. Are you going to be getting an HDTV, if so you will want to go ahead and take advantage of progessive scan. Progressive doesn't work with a standard tV.
    What receiver will you be getting? Almost all new AV receivers have DD 5.1 and DTS decoding. That way you don't need the decoders built into the DVD Player.