Which amplifier for temporary system?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by JustinSC, Apr 19, 2005.

  1. JustinSC

    JustinSC Extra

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is my situation: I am going on a training program for a company and they are supplying about a 1 year temporary housing (apartment I guess). What I want to do is get an amplifier to plug my laptop/ipod or whatnot to be my source and than when I get a more permanent home get a pre/pro and upgrade to HT/Music system. Right now my plans are to drive a DIY Dayton III system at 4 ohms. What would be some good options for amplifiers?
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    FYI: I wouldn't try to run any system off a headphone jack; not enough voltage to give you good sound. So you would want some other way of transporting the audio to the receiver.

    Stereo or multi-channel? Stereo is easy - probably the Cambridge Audio Azur 340a for $199 in this thread (note - you may have to call about the coupon). For the price, you might as well go for the CD too...[​IMG]
     
  3. JustinSC

    JustinSC Extra

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not really looking into a receiver since I think seperates are the way to go for upgradability and SQ purposes.

    I would like an amp that I would beable to use in my future system. I guess I'll put a price point of ~700-800. I'm not worried too much about the sound, running my ipod with a headphone to RCA jack doesn't degrade the SQ too much.

    It will be run in stereo.
     
  4. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    You wouldn't want to output directly to a separate amplifier, you'll want a preamp stage as well, which is why I recommended the integrated ampifier (stereo only). It wouldn't necessarily be so easy to incorporate an integrated into an HT, so you are probably looking at a receiver or a stereo receiver.
     
  5. JustinSC

    JustinSC Extra

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why do I need a preamp stage? Why can't I connect my ipod to the amplifier and use the ipod's volume control?
     
  6. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
  7. JustinSC

    JustinSC Extra

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But it is still possible to use my ipod as my source. As it is only a temporary solution, I think I can deal with the sound quality.

    It looks like the best bang for the buck would be the Outlaw 770 amplifier, any other opinions? This would give me a good option to creating a good HT and music system later?
     

Share This Page