Which Amp??? A confused newbie needs help

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by KrisCH, Sep 4, 2003.

1. KrisCH

KrisCH Auditioning

Jun 19, 2003
    Hello all, newbie here. I am thinking of taking the plunge into the world of seperates (I currently have a yamaha rxv2092) and have become thoroughly confused the more I look at what is available.

I have slowly been adding to my speakers over the past couple of years and now would like to focus on the electronics.

My current set up consists of legacy classics (300w max) for front mains, legacy silver screen 2 (300w max) for center and a pair of axiom qs8 (400w max) for surround duty. Base is being handled by a powered SVS PB2+ The mains are rated at 91db sensitivity at 4ohms, the center 98db at 4ohms, and the axioms 91db at 6ohms.

My system is in a 3600 ft3 room and is used for about 30% music 70% ht, but quality 2ch music is still a considering factor for me.

Since I have an older receiver my system is currently 5.1 but am intrigued about the potential of 7.1 and SACD use in the future. My plan right now is to purchase amplification then a good pre/proc shortly there after. That being said, I am a little confused as to what my amp purchase should be. I am wondering about buying a 5ch amp now, then maybe a second 2ch amp when I am ready to get a new pre capable of more channels. Then again I was also thinking about a maybe a three channel. As you can see I am pretty confused...

I know there have been many threads about which amps to buy, and invariably they turn into "buy what you think sounds good". I hope some of you may be able to tell me what may be a good match for what I have so that I can narrow the field down a little. I would really like to limit my budget on this to around 2500. I could probably eek out a few hundred more if the difference in what I would get would be a noticable improvement. That being said, here is the list I have compiled so far:

ATI AT3005 or AT3007
    B&K Ref 200.5 or 200.7