Where would I find out about upgrades to the Sony DA5ES?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by james e m, Apr 29, 2002.

  1. james e m

    james e m Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2001
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know it can be upgraded, but I wanted to know where I could find out about new upgrades to the DA5ES. Is there a web page with the updates or what? I think I have verison 1.4.

    James
     
  2. Arnel Enero

    Arnel Enero Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I don't have an answer as to where you can get upgrades, but I'm happy to tell you a good news -- your version 1.40 is still the latest. I got this info from the local Sony, although we call it in this part of the world as "VA555ES" (which is just a difference in naming).

    Btw, why do you think your DA5ES might use an upgrade?
     
  3. james e m

    james e m Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2001
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think it needs an upgrade at all. I just want to make sure I hear about an upgrade that Sony is doing, be it now or in 5 years.

    James
     
  4. Warren_Sc

    Warren_Sc Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have version 1.4, too. I am hoping the next upgrade will change it so my Sat retains DPLII-Movie, and the CD retains DPLII-Music when I switch between them. Right now the "memory" only retains DPLII and you need to change the parameter to "music" or "Movie" as needed.

    Anyone know?
     
  5. james e m

    james e m Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2001
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Warren I agree, I hate the problem you mentioned. I wish there was a way to fix it.

    James
     
  6. Charles Gurganus

    Charles Gurganus Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 1999
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    0
    There may be a way to fix it maybe with a Pronto?
     
  7. Rob Jo.

    Rob Jo. Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    hope you don't mind if I tack this on to this thread, since one of my questions about the DA5ES was about the software version.
    After being on the phone with Sony for about and hour, I knew I should have saved some time and just come here for some answers. I know they have a lot of products to support but my goodness that was bad. Anyway, here's a few questions, if anyone has time.
    1: Can you set up different speaker levels per sound field? In other words, if I wanted to have the sub be a little louder for movies vs music, can this be done?
    2: If I'm listening to analog CD input and want to watch a video input at the same time, can this be done?
    3: Is there a straight 5 channel stereo sound field?
    4: I saw an earlier thread where someone said they had version 1.4 of the internal software. I just got my unit last week and it's version 1.3. Is there anywhere on the net where you can get the newest version or at least a list of what has been upgraded with the different versions. The Sony people I talked with was under the impression this unit could not be upgraded and thought I was from Mars for suggesting that it could. [​IMG]
     
  8. Warren_Sc

    Warren_Sc Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to keep this thread clean so an upgrade does not get buried in tangents (one, I apparently started), so I started a new DA5ES Tweaks Thread .
    ...guess what... I think I fixed the DPLII issue...
    Quick answers to above:
    1 No you can't, but that would be nice. Maybe try an EQ setting and boost the lowest bass parameters for L/C/R. At least that is just one button you can turn on and off, and it may be that EQs follow the inputs you choose.
    2 It should be easy... maybe the audio split button?
    3 Yes, it is called mulit/2CH direct on the surrond menu. It only works with analog inputs.
     
  9. Dan Joy

    Dan Joy Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought mine 1 month ago and I think it is version 1.3( not currently at home). That would really stink if I dont have recent version. I guess I will have to contact Sony.
     
  10. Rob Jo.

    Rob Jo. Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good luck Dan. I did contact Sony. I talked with tech support and with the parts people. Both tried to put me off on the other and both basically were trying to tell me that the DA5ES doesn't have any software in it. When I tried to explain that I'm sure it's a flash eprom upgrade, well, then it just got bizarre....LOL...Anyway, if you do find out something, please let us know.

    thanks,

    Rob
     
  11. Rob Jo.

    Rob Jo. Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Warren for the reply,



    I should have made myself clearer, sorry. I was looking for something similar to Denon's 5ch stereo. It takes a two channel signal and basically spreads it around to all 5 speakers, I guess without all added DSP effects.

    thanks,

    Rob
     

Share This Page