Where to spend money?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JoshDH, Jul 17, 2002.

1. JoshDH

JoshDH Auditioning

I'm just getting started with Home Theatre and I thought I'd pose a question for the gurus here.

Is it more important to spend a lot of money on a good receiver, or good speakers? Basically, I'm on a limited budget, and in the interests of keeping costs down, I'd like to know if I can get away with a cheaper receiver if I buy better speakers.

My thoughts are that as long as I stick to a respected brand (Harmon Kardon, Denon, maybe Sony?) that I could buy one of their lower-end receivers (that maybe don't have all the bells and whistles) and still get respectable sound out of higher-end speakers. Does anybody disagree with that? Would I get better sound if I blew my money on a top-end receiver and got mediocre speakers?

2. Craig Woodhall

Craig Woodhall Supporting Actor

I think others will agree, that speakers are one of the most important parts of your system, if not THE most important.. Also, speakers last a long time and the technology doesn't change as fast.. it isn't uncommon to have speakers for 10+ years.. Receivers on the other hand, change almost monthly.. I would spend as much on your speakers as you can, just leaving enough left over for a receiver.. Then one day, you could sell the receiver, put in some extra cash and either get a better receiver or seperate amp/preamp to use with your speakers..

Craig

3. Michael WB

Michael WB Auditioning

I agree with Craig

Buy good speakers now and get a decent budget reciever or you might consider buying a second hand reciever to save some money. If you're just starting out all the bells and whistless are not that import so you can get better perfomance for your money from a used reciever.

Michael

4. peter a

peter a Stunt Coordinator

i agree-