1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Where home theater and pro audio meet...

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Tyson Wetzel, May 18, 2005.

1. Tyson Wetzel

Tyson Wetzel Stunt Coordinator

Does anybody have any experience building large home theaters with the need for mic input? I'm thinking about bidding on a project b/c I want to sell the video, but I know the customer will need speakers that are more like E/V and less like Polk Audio. I also think pro audio amplification would be a better fit. The problem I have no experience with mixers and devices like that so I'm a little hesitant.

2. ThomasW

ThomasW Cinematographer

Well mixers aren't anything special, think of them as just another front-end source like a tuner, CDP, etc.

Where experience comes into play is knowing the proper speakers for the installation, because 'live' audio feeds have MUCH higher transients than any recording.

Any of the brand name prosound amps are going to be adequate to the task as long as they've got plenty of power.

Where you're likely to get into problems is the fact that there's a ton of cheap 'DJ' equipment out there. And it's cheap for a reason, even if it has 'EV' or some other big name brand on it.

Something else to consider is that you might want to spec a compressor into the quote. They limit the dynamic range, and if prudently used, can save the speakers if someone idiot 'pops' into or 'thumps' on a mic.

3. Rory Buszka

Rory Buszka Supporting Actor

Consider EAW JFX series speakers, like the 10" two-way, for all positions. Get a double-18" subwoofer from a well-known brand for bass.

Or, this will be extremely better:
    Hit up Sound Physics Labs, Inc. for a set of their Runt speakers for all positions. Then hit up Danley Sound Labs for their PB-12 subwoofer.

4. Tyson Wetzel

Tyson Wetzel Stunt Coordinator