Where do you all read reviews

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff Gre, Oct 10, 2002.

1. Jeff Gre

Jeff Gre Auditioning

Oct 9, 2002
    I am new to ht and was wondering whose reviews you trust. I am looking at spending around $2000 to $2500. I was looking at the B&W 600s and Polk audios r series. I have not been able to find a lot of reviews and don't know anything about the reviewer sites I did find. If anybody knows any web addresses of review sites I would greatly appreciate it.
  2. Lew Crippen

Lew Crippen Executive Producer

May 19, 2002
    This is probably not helpful, but I’ll comment anyway.

I don’t trust magazines with advertisements for the product types they review. Very few reviews in these publications have reviews that are less than complimentary.
  3. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

May 8, 2001
    i'll add to what lew has stated. it's very rare that you will find any magazine that flat-out rejects a product. personally i can't think of a single one i've ever seen yet. even online reviews tend to be pretty lenient. if you "read between the lines" you may get a hint that they don't really like the product, but they'll never just come out and say it.
    when i read a review, i tend to look for what features the product has. i'll read the statistics and check the graphs too. and i try to get a feel for what the review is saying...but i never take his word for it. if he absolutely gushes about a product, i'll take that as a positive sign. but if he seems a little "grey"...then i'll take it with a grain of salt.
    that being said, here's some recommendations for you:
    magazines - i subscribe to the following:
    Sound and Vision - this is a good magazine for beginners. they review stuff that most people can afford and their technical articles are pretty easy to understand