What's new

What's your most valued non-R1 disc, and why? (1 Viewer)

Greg_D_R

Stunt Coordinator
I say non-R1 for the sake of brevity, but what I really mean is, 'what's your most valued non "native region" dvd purchase? What do you re-watch the most?

For me, it has to be the Laser Paradise Red Edition of Peter Jackson's Braindead, aka Dead Alive, which is ironic, because the video quality is watchable, but far from impressive. Still, it's on the short list of my all-time favorite movies, and this cut, in addition to the extra gallons of gore, makes a whole lot more sense in not leaving out the demise of two of the key undead characters. A remastered special edition of Dead Alive is damn near inevitable after the success of LOTR, but will it be this cut? And how much longer will we wait? I dunno, but I've been enjoying my copy for about two years now, so I've gotten my money's worth and then some. How about you?

Jim Blackie

Stunt Coordinator
I guess right now, it's A Chinese Ghost Story: Collector's Edition the R2. Great transfer, subtitles that make sense to me, great documentary.

After that, King Kong (1933) R2 - just because there ain't another available to me. Yet.

Tony Mirra

Stunt Coordinator
Trouble Every Day R2 - France (clair denis film unreleased on DVD in R1)
The 400 Blows R2 France (newest MK2 release)
Wild at Heart (R2 UK) and Lost Highway (R4) (unreleased David Lynch films)
Army of Darkness (R3) (clearly the best looking version of the film released on DVD yet)

Peter Svensson

Second Unit
difficult one, but I will have to say The Terminator - UE (DTS, R2JAP), because it´s just so damn beautiful and a bit rare. Easily the best looking package I ever seen.

But when it comes to favorite movie, I´ll pick Stand By Me - Superbit (R2JAP). Finally an edition who makes this great movie justice.