whats WRONG with my screen? HELP

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Danny B, Dec 25, 2001.

  1. Danny B

    Danny B Extra

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI every1,

    I seem to have a problem with my DVD aspect ratio's and im pulling my hair off(im almost bold now).

    Ill try to explain.

    The screen aspect ratio that i have is a 2.35:1 so when i watch a dvd movie with a 2.35:1 aspect ratio the screen is filled fully from bottom to top and i enjoy/like it that way...BUT,when i go to watch a movie with a 1.78:1 or 1.85:1 ratio ,i get a picture that is not filled on the sides(leaves about 5inches on sides empty) and the top or bottom(i forget witch one) comes out of the screen(shining on the wall area where its not mented) area meaning i have to go to the ceiling mounted projector,zoom the picture making it smaller and even move the projector bracket down or up to make the image centered again.

    I know i can make the sides ok by pulling the drapes/curtins(spell check) in so you cant see the 5inch empty screen,BUT what about the top and bottom image and needing to move the projector always? how do you do this,can you'se explain to me please.

    What i would prefer is having an image always the same top and bottom and just move the drapes on the side filling the empty 5inch space but not moving the projector at all.

    As you can see im new at this and just got my screen up today and im allready frustraded..so if any1 has any idea's or pictures of how they did theres or just explain to me what im doing wrong...that would be great.

    Thanks for listening and i hope you can understand what im trying to say.

    I could show you what i mean by posting a picture but ive got nowhere to upload the images.

    THANKS again for any of your help.

    P.S. i didnt know where to post this,so i thought projector area would suit best.
     
  2. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what you describe I conclude that your projector or an outboard scaler is automatically resizing the picture. You will have to consult the instruction manual to see what choice you can exert over the scaling mechanism.
    By the way "no resizing" (except the 16:9 to 4:3 mode change on 16:9 TV sets for anamorphic/standard disks) means the width of the picture itself stays constant and the height varies with the aspect ratio.
    Video hints:
    http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm
     
  3. Danny B

    Danny B Extra

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    ALLAN,

    thanks for responding.

    I have a LCD SVGA Hitachi with only a DVD connected to it at the moment until i figure it out(no external devices for now).

    What im trying to say is: i can have it done two different ways(that i know of).

    1.Make the 2.35:1 movies fit perfectly on my 2.35:1 screen and then when i wanna watch a movie with a 1.78: or 1.85:1 the width will be the same BUT the top image will come of the screen and project on the wall,and i dont like it that way.

    2.Make the 1.78:1 and 1.85:1 fit on the screen height wise(top and bottom) perfectly and have about 5inches of empty space on the side of the (2.35:1)screen.

    Then when i watch a DVD movie with an aspect ratio of 2.35:1,the width will be the same as the others(5inches on both sides empty) BUT now the top and bottom black(dark grey) bars are showing on the screen.Dont like that either.

    So basically im not using the full width of the screen if i want to set it up for all aspect ratio's.

    Now what i would like is...have the setup to suit a 2.35:1 ratio(filling the complete screen top to bottom)and when i want to watch a movie with a 1.85:1 ratio, i would like the image to scale/convert to a 2.35:1 ratio!!! that way the top image wont come out of the screen,IS THAT POSSIBLE? but the image will probably look a bit squashed.

    Can a external scaler or any other devise (PC ?) do that? if so can you let me know...

    THANKS...
     
  4. DustinDavis

    DustinDavis Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 1999
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Danny, just so you don't give up too fast...I do know that this is possible, but I don't have enough information to give you specific instructions on how to do it. The only person I know who has a constant-height FP setup also has a Faroudja scaler which is quite pricey.
     
  5. Danny B

    Danny B Extra

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dustin,

    thanks for responding.

    ive been asking around and looks like a PC will be able to do all this without going to a expensive external scaler.

    I might try it and see what happends.

    Thanks again...
     

Share This Page