What's new

What's up with Def Tech speakers? (1 Viewer)

Allan_Tee

Auditioning
I'm new to many of the brands of speakers out there. I've been trying to educate myself reading posts in the forums and by reading magazines. It appears that Definitive Technology is reviewed well in the mags, but people in the forums don't appear impressed. I know I really should let my ears be the judge, but why is Def Tech not well regarded? Can someone please recommend good speakers in the $2500 range? Also, up to what size room will bookshelves be appropriate? Thanks for your help.

Jason_Me

Stunt Coordinator
A lot of people dislike Def Tech because they're bipolar. That means an equal number of drivers are firing on the back side of the speaker, along with the drivers facing you on the front of the speaker. This creates a huge sweet-spot, but it also throws off imaging. A lot of people consider this to be a gimmick, and not true Hi-Fi.

Other speakers to consider for around $2500

Energy Veritas V2.3
PSB Stratus Goldi
B&W Nautilus 805
B&W CDM 9
Dynaudio Audience 82
Polk LSi 25 (or the cheaper LSi15 if you dont like powered subs)
Klipsch RF7
AAD Q50
AAD 2001
Soliloquy 5.3
Soliloquy 6.2

There are many more I'm forgetting, but you get the picture (lots of options).

Holger

Stunt Coordinator
hi allen,

i think jason is right on his statement, a lot of people dislike bipolar speakers. personally i wouldn't call the bipolar design a *gimmick*, i rather call it a step in the right direction. IMO a sound of an instrument (say in a live orchestra concert) doesn't come pinpointed from a direction, rather then SOMEWHERE from a direction and this is almost exactly what a bipol speaker is trying to achieve.

nevertheless, if you like it or not is all alone up to you and your taste. if you looking for great mono polar radiating speakers, i'd like to add boston acoustics (especially for ht IMO) to jason's list.

regards, holger

John Doran

Screenwriter
allen,