What's new

What's the optimal configuration w/ digital cable & HDTV? (1 Viewer)

Rick*Guillo

Auditioning
I'm a newbie to the Home Theater Forum and have been impressed with everything I've seen so far. I'm hoping someone can help me with this.

I'm trying to determine what would be the optimal configuration for digital cable and HDTV. I subscribe to our local cable company who supplies both the digital converter and the HD decoder. I recently had them out for a service call which culminated with the replacement of the digital receiver. In the process the cable repair man insisted on reconfiguring my set up which included where the cable actually enters the system, replacing my Monster Cables with the cable company's RCA cables, removing the cable I had running through a Monster surge protector to directly to the converter, etc. I have a widescreen, A/V receiver, DVD, VCR, etc. Can anyone suggest where I should run the cables? For example, should I continue to run the cable thru the surge protector? Should I have everything running from the digital converter to my A/V receiver and then to the TV? What works best?

Thanks to all that can offer any insight!

Allan Jayne

Senior HTF Member
From the converter to the TV -- Were you using a Monster S-video cable or a Monster composite video cable? The HDTV needs to come in using component video (three RCA cables). Some of the other channels may look best with composite video, others may look best with S-video or component video. If not all the channels look the best with the same cable, you may wish to run all three, composite, S-ideo, and component video, from converter to A/V receiver to TV or (your choice) converter(s) directly to TV. If you use S-video from your HDTV converter, the picture will not be high definition even if teh TV upconverts it to 1080i.