What's the deal with HDCD?

Discussion in 'Music' started by chris_clem, Oct 28, 2003.

1. chris_clem

chris_clem Second Unit

I have recently noticed that some of my favorite CDs (like my Natalie Merchant CDs) are HDCD and so I decided to read up on this format but I now have more questions that answers and I was hoping if someone can help me out.

1) From the HDCD.com site:

2. Dave Bennett

Dave Bennett Screenwriter

If you run a search, there was a thread a while ago that gave a nice overview of HDCD. Basically, it's better than a regular CD but nowhere near SACD/DVD-A. Also, it's pretty much a dying format so there isn't much hardware support for it.

3. Andy_Steb

Andy_Steb Stunt Coordinator

I’m no expert in this area, but I think it’s more of which processor you have not the dvd player to receive HDCD.
    I currently own one HDCD (Kenny Wayne Shepard) and I find no difference between it and regular cd. I wouldn’t let this HDCD thing influence your decision on future purchases. SACD and DVD-Audio blows HDCD out of the water.

My current setup HK525, HDCD printed on the face plate. Will play HDCD in stereo mode only, all surround modes off.
    Denon 2900, with the 6CH analog outputs there is no indication of HDCD. With the optical output, the HK has no problem decoding HDCD from the PCM signal. I haven’t tried 2CH from the HK to the Denon to see what it will do.

4. Richard Solomon

Richard Solomon Auditioning

Hello all: I just read this thread because, in comparing the Harman Kardon sr4500 with the newer 4600, the only difference between the two is that the latter has added "HDCD decoding". Sounds like the consensus is that this was hardly a significant advance. I'm curious, though, why a newer machine would have this feature if it's really going to be soon defunct or superceded. Any thoughts?
    Thanks, and Happy New Year! Richard

5. Danny Tse

Danny Tse Producer