what's the big difference?????

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by NickSI, Jan 31, 2005.

1. NickSI

NickSI Stunt Coordinator

alright i am a newbie to the world of hometheater but i do have a little knowlage and a decent system. i have a reciever that cost about $300 it is 6.1 has DTS and Dolby 2 and all that stuff. but i am seeing recievers that cost in the thousands. what do they have that makes them soooo much more expensive? i can hardly fathom.

2. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    What's the difference between a Geo Metro and a Ferrari F430?

3. KenLeBlanc

KenLeBlanc Stunt Coordinator

I'm also a newbie but my guess would be:

Power (lots of it and clean)
    Many many features
    Brand name
    Many digital outputs
    stuff that most people will never use
    etc...

I have a Yamaha RXV-650B which cost me about $550 CAN and it's probably more than I need. I'm currently only running a 5.1 set-up with all Athena speakers. It sounds great and I figured I'd get a nice receiver that would last me years and would allow me to expand my set-up. Very pleased with my receiver/system and can't imagine what an RX-Z9 (Yamaha's flagship) could do for me.

4. JeremyErwin

JeremyErwin Producer

Some of them are software upgradable. At least one (Onkyo something 1000) is hardware upgradable.

Then, there's the amplifier section. The Denon 5805 has 10 170 watt amplifiers, for instance.

Some receivers can support multiple zones, although this isn't so much of a high end feature any more.

And, of course, the more expensive receivers are equipped with the latest electronic gizmos. Does your$300 receiver switch HDMI? Does it have a firewire port? Eventually, the market figures out which features are actually useful, and manufacturers redesign even their entry level gear around such things. If you can't wait for the "eventually", a high priced receiver may well be in your future...