What's the best way to upgrade Dish network?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tom Rags, Aug 14, 2001.

1. Tom Rags

Tom Rags Supporting Actor

Hello all-
    I myself am a newbie to satellite, but here is my dilemma: I just recently moved back home with my parents (I am a grad student), and I'm looking for the best strategy to upgrade our current Dish Network system. Here is the problem: my pop already is a Dish subscriber, but it is the "old school" dish (pre-Dish500) and there is only one LNA out from the dish. My goal is to upgrade such that we can use two receivers from the same dish (upgrade to Dish 500?). What do you recommend is the cheapest and most logical way to upgrade our system? I would also like to do the installing myself. Would it be easiest to unsubscribe and resubscribe in my name? Does anyone have any recommendations? Thanks for your help, I really appreciate any responses you could give me.

2. Bob Jackson

Bob Jackson Stunt Coordinator

You are eligible for a new subscriber discount on hardware - ie the new I Like $9 Plan.
    Or you can go Digital Home Plan and pay $5 a month extra for leasing the equipment.
    Or you can outright buy new equipment outright.
    There are several cheap internet dealers and Sears.

3. Jerome Grate

Jerome Grate Cinematographer

Also check Dishnetwork.com. Sometimes they offer Dish 500 upgrade packages that may include free installation with the
    credit card pay.
    ------------------
    If loving Home Theater is
    wrong, I don't want to be
    right!!!

4. Scott Kimball

Scott Kimball Screenwriter

There should be no need to upgrade to Dish 500 just to add another receiver - unless, of course, you want the America's Top 150 package, or some other programming on the 110 satellite.