What's So Great About Getting Drunk

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Andrew_Sch, Jul 20, 2002.

1. Andrew_Sch

Andrew_Sch Cinematographer

Crusing around the HTF and being a high school student, I often hear people's stories of drunken revelry, and I always hear people in my school talking about how hammered they are/were/are going to get, and how great it is. What I wanna know is, what's so great about being drunk? To me, losing control of your mind and motor skills and possibly choking on your own vomit (although there's no way to dust for vomit) doesn't exactly seem like fun, so what's the deal?

2. Blu

Blu Screenwriter

Cool! Keep that attitude and you'll be fine!
    I do indulge in social drinking but it sure does hurt the next day the older I get!
    What's so great about it? I'm more sociable, outgoing, and really can't walk, slur a lot and start to think I'm a world class comedian. On the plus side I get sick to my stomache, think I'm invincible, Invisible, well you get the picture!

3. Paul D Young

Paul D Young Second Unit

Good question. I'm 29 years old and I have yet to catch even a buzz. Everytime I hung out with someone who was drunk it felt like I was babysitting. I've only seen one of my best friends drunk once and it was hilarious to me to see him act so uncharacteristically (was that a word?). He seemed to be having some fun but if it were not for me he would have gotten himself in trouble (taunting cops etc.)

I personally would never want to be drunk in public. When I was in High School and College I heard a million stories from people about the things they did when they were drunk. I rarely ever believed them. For some reason, people love to brag about how unbelievably stupid they acted in public. It is like it is a badge of honor to have made fools of themselves.

If you don't ever start, I don't think you'll be missing much.

4. NickSo

NickSo Producer

Nick So