What's more important - reciever or floor speakers?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by ryan.Masters, Aug 23, 2005.

1. ryan.Masters

ryan.Masters Auditioning

Hello all, newbie here. I am trying to take my surround sound to the next level and as a poor college student have limited options. I currently am running a JVC Rx6000 reciever with 4 Polk RM2300 SAT series speakers and a same series center speaker plus a good subwoofer. As far as clarity and definition for movies which would be a more noticeable improvement... adding floorstanding tower speakers for the front two channels, or getting a new reciever? I'm thinking of getting the floorstanding speakers since these satellite ones are pretty small (but they sound great). Any input would be appreciated. Thanks!

2. ColinM

ColinM Cinematographer

Tough decision...

I pick speakers. But that'll bring up the "non-matching center" problem.

I lived with the same HK AVR for 4 years, but changed speakers like 9 times.

Now I have a new HK AVR, several generations and steps up the ladder, and the difference isn't all that noticeable.

Speakers.

3. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

well, if you're talking specifically movies, i gotta say it may not really matter.

you already have decent satellite speakers and (per you) a good sub ... correct? then think about this. for the most part, movies are dialog. you'll have the occasional crash and explosion, but that's about it. dialog is mostly mid to high range ... so your existing speakers will handle that. your sub will take care of the rest.

now, if we're talking about music, then (personally) i feel a good floorstanding speaker is better then a sub/sat combo. some will definitely disagree with me, but that's my .02.

in general (and i think most will agree regardless of my above blabbering) a change of speakers will be more noticeable then a change in amplification.

4. ryan.Masters

ryan.Masters Auditioning