What's involved in building a pair of A/V-1+?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jonathan T, Dec 19, 2002.

1. Jonathan T

Jonathan T Second Unit

I want to build a completely sheilded, black pair of A/V-1+ speakers. I've never build speakers and I don't want to pay 900 for RAD to do it for me. So, what's involved. I've made wooden clocks, desks and small toys before and I solder wires on my R/Cs so I have some experience.

2. george king

george king Supporting Actor

Buy the kit, and build your own cabinents (not the easiest thing to do). I just bought some unfinished cabinents for a pair of AV1s from RAD (and will be building the kit for my Birthday). They are really well made, and high quality. I know I could never have built anything as nice. Therefore, it may be worthwhile to have Brian build you a pair of high quality cabinents - they will improve the sound.

3. Jonathan T

Jonathan T Second Unit

But it will cost 900 dollars, it's 3 times the cost of buying the kit from GR. You said I could just buy the material, precut, and put the speaker together, right? How much would that cost? Would I just have to put the drivers in, put the cabinet together and wire everything up? Or do I have to mess with other stuff?

4. Dustin B

Dustin B Producer

Just send Brian an email. I'm sure he'd be willing to do just the baffel. Flat kit. Unfinished assembled. Finished assembled. Finished assembled, with the crossovers and drivers installed. Price going up as you go along my list.

If you have decent basic wood working tools and skills you'll have no problem building the enclosure. The hardest part will be cutting the driver holes. But if you have or make a decent circle jig for a router, and do some test cuts first it won't be bad either.