What's better, too wide or too narrow?

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Brandon:W, Aug 10, 2004.

1. Brandon:W

Brandon:W Stunt Coordinator

I'm limited to the configuration of my front speakers in a 5.1 system.

The room is 18' x 16.5' x 10' high.

The main listening position is 11' from the TV.

The back surround speakers will probably be 8' apart in-walls, on a wall directly behind the listening spot.

Now my dilemma is that the front speakers can either be 6' apart, or 18' apart (and about 2 feet in front of the TV).

The Dolby web site suggests somewhere between 22 and 30 degrees from center for the front speaker placement. I have a choice of either 15 degrees or 45 degrees.

What do you think would provide the better environment for HT?

(I don't have the means to setup the system currently and test what sounds better)

I'm leaning toward the larger angle placement...what do you think?

Brandon

2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    Wow, are those your only options? For a position 11’ back, an 18’ spread is too wide and 6” is too narrow. Can you re-arrange the room?

Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt

3. Tom D

Tom D Stunt Coordinator

Hello, 15 deg is closer to 22, than 45 is to 30. I would set them 6' apart facing forward as opposed to angled in to the room. Good luck - Tom

4. Brandon:W

Hey Wayne,

Unfortunately, if I want to have the speakers placed equidistant from the TV, those are my choices. The TV location is fixed.

Here's a poor picture of the room layout (sorry for the .pdf format). S shows the speaker pre-wires, and SW is the sub pre-wire.

[PDF of the room layout]

Since there is a walkway right next to the TV, I'm a bit stuck.

I suppose I could move the couch from the far wall into the center of the room....but I don't think my wife would go for that. Heck, I'm still working on her to put up with an SVS sub...

Brandon

5. Brandon:W

Hey Tom,