What would you say? A new display? Under $3K?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Andy Anderson, Nov 14, 2002.

1. Andy Anderson

Andy Anderson Second Unit

Hey guys. I'm not a newbie to HT by any stretch of the imagination, except when it comes to next-gen displays. I'm where I want to be in the land of audio (Marantz SR7000, B&W Series 6 all the way around, SVS CS-Ultra subwoofer), but I figure it's time to upgrade that Sony 27" Wega (my LCR6 center channel dwarfs the TV). I've been an active member of the audio portion of the forum for years now, and have been anxiously awaiting the opportunity to ask questions in this neigborhood for a while.
    So--looks like the commercial aircraft company I work for (take a guess--yup, you got it) is hooking us up with a small bonus in time for the holidays, and am itching for the next great upgrade.
    Can y'all hook me up with suggestions? I've been searching and researching this and AVS forum about plasmas, RPTVs, Loewe CRTs, etc.
    Here's my criteria:
    -$3K to spend (somewhat flexible here--not by much though)
    -16:9 display
    -40" or larger (but will consider smaller sizes)
    -HD not required--the display can be HD-ready
    -Primarily will be used for DVDs, some TV, and Xbox
    I will be buying a new Progressive Scan DVD (currently have an ancient Sony 5 disc) player to support the new set as well.
    So--I'm not crazy about RPTVs because of limited viewing angles, and worrying about guns, lenses, calibration, and finding room for a freakin' behemoth of a display. I can be persuaded, though. [​IMG] I'm really open to any suggestions--though I have definitely ruled out front projection.
    I know these types of threads are tough to get rolling, but I'd greatly appreciate any help. As I stated before, I've done a fair amount of non-interactive research, so I am familiar with terminology, etc.
    Fire away, y'all. I eagerly await any help you can provide.
    Thanks,
    Andy