What would happen if...? A Sony HD-100 question.

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Dave Miller, Nov 25, 2003.

  1. Dave Miller

    Dave Miller Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    1
    My sister is giving me her Sony HD-100 high def DirectTV satellite receiver. I'm not interested in DirectTV, but I am interested in the receiver. What would happen if I used it for OTA high def and cable? I realize the guide would not work, but how would the receiver work if at all? Would I need to call DirectTV?

    Peace,

    DM
     
  2. anthony_b

    anthony_b Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    3
    You could use it as a stand alone OTA but not for cable.
     
  3. Dave Miller

    Dave Miller Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the reply.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but aren't there three RF inputs on the back of the HD-100: cable, satellite, and OTA ant.? Why wouldn't I be able to use the cable input?

    Peace,

    DM
     
  4. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    It would work for analog cable but not digital cable.
     
  5. Dave Miller

    Dave Miller Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gotcha. Yes, I never expected it would work with digital cable. Will I have any problems w/ DirectTV in using this thing or will I just be able to hook up the cable and antenna and it will work?

    Peace,

    DM
     
  6. rob-socal

    rob-socal Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    The three RF inputs are for.
    Sat
    OTA standard NTSC
    OTA Digital TV

    I don't think it can be used as a cable box.

    You can use it for OTA broadcasts without activating the DirecTV. The internal scaler for SD isn't to my liking, but it does nicely on native 1080i broadcasts.
     

Share This Page