What wires do I need to run ?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Allan.G, Jul 11, 2003.

  1. Allan.G

    Allan.G Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    New to all of this. But Im going to run the electrical in my basement soon and I'm wanting to run wires for a front projection.

    Could someone let me know what all wires I need to run.
    I will also have a computer in the area that could be hooked up also (What can you do with a computer hooded up LOL guess I need to read more forums LOL) I would also like to get all the wires for future use install also.

    Thanks for the help
     
  2. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is a fairly complex question, and I'm moving it to the HT Construction and Interiors area. If you don't get good advice there, email me and I'll try it somewhere else.

    M.
     
  3. Srinivas Reddy

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 1999
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been collecting some info on this and this is from Neil Joseph from this thread
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...hreadid=149281

    A suggested minimum would be....

    - RGBHV (5 composite cables basically for HDef)
    - Component (3 composite cables)
    - S-video
    - composite video (for VCR or other source)

    HTH
     
  4. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    If you are going to be running video cabling in an unyet finished room then I would consider running via a conduit along with strong nylon string so that future unforseen cabling can be pulled through. I did the same in my house before they drywalled the place.
     
  5. Stephane

    Stephane Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you want your Front projector to be automated, you may also consider running a cat 5 wire. And Neil's suggestion is very good. Always keep an extra thread run in the conduit. That way if you need to add or change a wire you are ready to go.

    Stephane
     

Share This Page