what was I thinking?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Philip_G, Jan 25, 2004.

1. Philip_G

Philip_G Producer

since I work nights I tend to have a lot of free time at odd hours, so I thought to myself, HEY lets get a project car!
    so I did, not because I'm a particularly good mechanic or anything, so here it is, the engine is out and completely apart, soaking in some oven cleaner as I type, the rebuild kit is on the way, as is a porting template for the intake and exhaust ports (same effect as a bigger cam on a piston engine as I understand it) Next week I'll try to reassemble the engine if I can remember how and hope to god it runs.
    If you've never seen what the inside of a rotary engine looks like maybe this will be interesting?
    here's how a rotary works, my engine is a 13BT, it has two rotors

[​IMG]

also, the state of the garage pretty well reflects the state of my sanity. It's a complete mess now, oil, tranny fluid, and coolant EVERYWHERE, you can see the oil slick under the car. An entire bag of kitty litter still didn't contain it. I think the exxon valdez fucking ran aground in my garage.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Stacey_V

Stacey_V Stunt Coordinator

Great pictures..thanks for sharing. Keep us posted on your progress, as I'm interested in seeing how this turns out. I have a 1977 Chev 3/4 ton pickup that I've always wanted to rebuild and "spruce up". I'd like to get it into show condition if at all possible.

3. Philip_G

Philip_G Producer

Would probably be a LOT easier than this. More parts available, no electronics, and the ability to buy a pre built shortblock cheap all add up to ease, but probably more expense.
    I don't think I can do bodywork, so the car will probably have to stay in it's current condition for awhile, we'll see.