What to make of these Component Cable Specs?

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by ChrisYK, Feb 26, 2004.

1. ChrisYK

ChrisYK Stunt Coordinator

I'm a relative newbie and was wondering if anybody had any input on the following specs:

* Precision 75 Ohm Impedance for Maximum Signal transfer
    * Extended 1 GHZ Bandwidth
    * EMI-RFI Protected Double High-Density Shield
    * Triple RG-59 95% Copper-Braid Shielded Conductors
    * 95% Spiral-Wound-Shield Audio Conductors
    * 24K Gold Plated Heavy Duty Connectors

Thanks!

2. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

Well the "Extended 1 GHz" bandwidth is a little funny. The Canare/Belden coax that we know/love has what is known as the -3db bandwidth at about 100 Mhz.

This is even stranger as they specify that the cables are RG-59 rather than the RG6 which has a little more bandwidth.

The "95% Spiral-Wound-Shield Audio Conductors" is also a bit funny. Why are they talking about Audio Conductors on a component video cable?

Call the company and see if they will give you a frequency-response chart for the coax, or if not, at least tell you where the -3 db frequency is.

3. KurtBJC

KurtBJC Agent

Those specs are, as Bob notes, a bit odd. Normally one doesn't see 95% coverage on a spiral "serve" type shield, but meanwhile there's also reference to a braid shield. Is this a bundle of both audio and video cables?

The term "bandwidth" doesn't, in itself, mean much without details; an attenuation chart or table would tell you more. But you don't really need that whole GHz unless you're doing something like SDI anyhow, and the more important spec--impedance tolerance--is missing. I'd see how close the cable is supposed to be to 75 ohms, and what the actual attenuation specs are. The manufacturer might be able to provide you with a full spec sheet, which would be more helpful.

4. Chu Gai

Chu Gai Lead Actor