What's new

What to look for when purchasing reciever, mains (1 Viewer)

Mark M. Smith

Stunt Coordinator
I'm currently a college student (second semester junior) with grad school aspirations and as such have more or less absolutely nothing in the way of money and income only during major breaks. This is quite a problem when one is considering setting up a good starter HT setup. After making the requisite purchases of a quality tv and dvd player and an increasing library of dvds I've been giving a lot more thought to the next and rather expensive step: audio.

This will be quite problematic as I need to purchase both a reciever and mains at the same time to get any use out of them and don't want to skimp. I figure that a large outlay now is a much more solid investment than a poor system that will soon need to be upgraded. Entry-level, but the upper echelon of entry-level.

Given this I'm beginning my research a bit early so that when the money comes along I'll be better able to know what I want and go for it. Here the second problem comes into play: I've realized that I know next to nothing about what I ought to be looking for in a good reciever and set of mains. While definately knowing that I want a set decoding DD and DTS this seems to be pretty much standard these days. I'll likely be using my DVD player for cds to start with or running a few through my old Aiwa shelf system. DVD and tv are both new models connected with component cable.

Anything that I should start looking at? It's not so much that I need to know the answers, so much as the right questions to be asking when I buckle down to doing some serious A/V research.

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
As far as speakers go, you get a lot of bag for the buck when you get good quality bookshelf models vs. a pair of floorstanders. These could be moved to rear speaker duty later if you upgrade later.