What to DO???

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Johnny_L, Jan 8, 2003.

1. Johnny_L

Johnny_L Auditioning

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to HT and was plannign to spend around 10K-12K on a HT system. Now I know that I wnat to get a projection instead of a plasma,(bigger for less), and other than that I have no clue. I was thinking either a denon or yamaha receiver, and not sure that kind of speakers. My friend has NHT and those sounded really nice but i dunno. PLEASE HELP!!!! thanks

2. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

your question is so broad it's almost intimidating. [​IMG]
    so, with a 12k budget, you should be able to put together quite a rockin' system.
    my suggestion is to break down your budget before you do anything else. figure how much you're willing to spend for each component. i don't know how much projectors are, but that will probably take a large chunk. your speakers probably will too. don't forget to factor in cabling and other accessories (calibration stuff, universal remote, etc.)
    regarding the gear. do you have any idea of what you're looking for? any special features you feel you need? if you're not up to speed, go to a b&m store and start checking stuff out. just take a look at what's available and try to get a feel for what you like. the salespeople will definitely want to sell you something. if you're up front and honest with them they'll probably be willing to dispense some "free" advice. just don't jerk them around.
    denon and yamaha make good gear. you may want to include onkyo, sony es and outlaw (www.outlawaudio.com) into that mix.
    also, with your budget, you may be able to get into separates instead. decide if that's something you'd be interested in.