1. Visit this thread for your chance to win a selection of Lionsgate action films on UV!
    Dismiss Notice

What to do with a bill for 42 cents?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jay H, Dec 2, 2002.

1. Jay H

Jay H Producer

Jay
    I got a mastercard bill for 42 cents because I really don't use it as a mastercard but as a phone card. I happen to make a call last pay period which was basically leaving a message on a friend's voicemail that I wanted to hide because it was for a surprise party so I didn't use my shared line with my parents.. However, now I have a bill for 42 cents!! I can waste a check and 37 cents postage or pay the puny interest charge but I've never paid interest before on any of my credit cards so I want to keep my perfect record...

Jay

2. Alf S

Alf S Cinematographer
    Supporter

Alfie
    Assuming you've had the card a while and you're in good standings with them, would it be possible to call and ask if they can write that .42 off your account??

I know it sounds crazy, but sometimes you'd be amazed at what some companies do to make their good standing customers happy.

Worst case, you mail a check, and consider it a lesson learned.

Alfer

3. Jim_F

Jim_F Screenwriter

edit: Need more coffee.

OK, if there's something else you intended to buy via check this week anyway, you could charge it to the card instead and overpay the bill in the amount of that purchase.

4. SteveA

SteveA Supporting Actor

Some credit card companies have web sites that allow you to pay electronically. They take the money directly out of your checking account - for free. You could save 37 cents that way.

5. Malcolm R

Malcolm R Executive Producer

Malcolm
    I'd be less worried about the interest and more worried about the $25 to $35 Late Fee if you don't pay. Definitely call the card company and ask how you should handle it.

6. Cam S

Cam S Screenwriter