What's new

What to connect speakers to? (1 Viewer)

swob111

Grip
Real Name
Zach
I have recently acquired 5 speakers and a sub woofer. I don't really think I need the sub woofer, but I thought I would mention it. The five speakers that I have just have speaker wire coming out of them. I am new to speakers, and audio, but what I have researched so far is that I have to connect the speakers to a receiver. Receivers seem to be a bit pricey, so I was wondering if there is something that is fairly cheap, as I only paid five dollars for the speakers, that has an audio in, and 5 speaker wire ports that I can connect the speakers to. Thanks for any help.

Stephen Tu

Screenwriter
You need the sub if you want deep bass, and if the 5 speakers are quite small, you need the sub for *any* bass. Is the sub powered? What brand/model are the speakers?

Receivers are the cheapest & best option. How much you need to spend depends if you want new or used, and what you plan to connect to it (TV/DVD/Blu-ray) and if you want the latest & greatest. It sounds like you want ultra-cheap, so look for a used receiver on ebay or craigslist. You should be able to pick an older model up for ~$50 or so, + a bit for shipping. Try to get one with Dolby Digital, at least.

swob111

Grip
Real Name
Zach
Thank you for the reply. Yes, the base is powered, as I have to plug it into the wall. The sub also connects with a 3.5 mm headphone audio in I am pretty sure. The only speaker with writing on it is the sub. This is what it says.
Classic
Model NO: SP-700S
ACTIVE SUBWOOFER SYSTEM
POWER SOURCE: AC 120V ~ 60HZ
POWER CONSUMPTION: 75W
SPEAKER IMPEDANCE: 4 ohms

There is also a switch on the back that says 0 degrees Phase 180 degrees, what does this mean? As for the other speakers, there are 4 small square ones, one that is the same width as the square ones, but twice as tall, and then the sub. Thanks for all of your help.:star:

Stephen Tu

Screenwriter