What's new

What to charge for video editing? (1 Viewer)

Pamela

Supporting Actor
Recently, as a favor, I edited a wedding video for some friends. What started as a simple project of dumping the raw tape to DVD became a full blown production, complete with soundtrack, trimming the clips, still photos, etc. Authored the DVD in iDVD, with chapters, etc, for the full effect.
It turned out awesome. Very professional and polished (I am definitely not one to pat myself on the back, but this time I think I will :D ). The family was thrilled beyond belief. Tears and everything! Now, word is out and I have a line of people who want me to edit their home movies.
Problem is, I don't know what to charge. I've been searching price lists on the internet and the prices are all over the place. I don't know where to begin. I know people aren't going to pay $150 an hour. As a graphic designer, I get $75 an hour, but I don't think people are going to pay that, either. There are some package deals where two hours of tape is put onto DVD with X amount of chapters for a set price. I just don't know where to begin.
Any ideas of where to start?

Scott L

Senior HTF Member
I was in the same position as you a couple years ago, but with my church. Personally, I got burned out on it all after half a dozen videos. People knew my work and asked me to record & edit their weddings which I had to decline. (so boring!)

Imo it should be expensive. In my experience people only see the finished product and don't realize the hours & hours of work it takes to create it.

If you want an example, my friend's company had raw footage of their employees doing silly stuff and they wanted it edited for their Christmas party. They handed professional company X all their footage and were charged a flat fee of $300. The finished product turned out like crap. Simple, sloppy cuts and it looked like they did it in under an hour and a half.