What the heck is 1:1 pixel mapping?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Gordon Moore, Aug 12, 2002.

1. Gordon Moore

Gordon Moore Second Unit

Been reading on this and other boards got me wondering why 1:1 pixel mapping is a good thing with projectors. What's the alternative if you don't achieve this? That is, what does the projector do if you can't set a rez that gives 1:1 pixel mapping...maybe I don't quite understand what this is.
    Helllllllllp [​IMG]

2. Bill Slack

Bill Slack Supporting Actor

If you input anything else the projector itself will have to scale the image. Usually, an outboard scaler or HTPC will do a superior job in terms of image quality, because of this.

3. Gordon Moore

Gordon Moore Second Unit

Okay (I'm still new to this)...so if you set your rez on the pc incorrectly, the scaler in the projector takes over rather than the PC. is that correct?... I always thought that the advantage to an HTPC is that you could scale to much higher rez's and refresh rates...or am I screwing up my terminology?

856*480 =16:9 right?

712*400 =16:9 right?

by picking a resolution and multiplying by 1.78 is that roughly how the correct rez for a projector is chosen and scaled? (with the appropriate refresh)

and scaling is not the same as line doubling right in effect that's refresh?

4. Bill Slack

A fixed pixel display (LCD, DLP, D-ILA...) has a specific resolution of the panels.

1368x768 is found in some DLP projectors. You want your PC to output at exactally 1368x768. When you do this, the projector had to do no scaling, which is what you're after. Now CRT projectors are another beast. They can take all sorts of resolutions, and usually some fine tuning in between, as they can usually accept a range of frequencies. But there is still an optimal range, and that's what you want a HTPC for.